August 18, 2008

  • A template for an easy way to dress up water

      Last year, when we were preparing our Out of Town bags for guests, we knew that water bottles would be an essential ingredient to include. Yet, since it’s me, there was no way the water was getting into people’s hands without some sort of fun intervention!

    We went to Costco and stocked up on 2 cases of water at the high price of $4.49 each. When I removed the label to measure it, I realized that the labels were exactly 8.5″ long… the same length as a standard piece of paper. As the lightbulb went off in my head, I ran to dip a piece of laser printed paper in water… and guess what… no bleeding! It was then that I realized I could save myself a lot of time if I made the labels out of PAPER instead of printing them onto costly and expensive label sheets!
    So, that’s what I did! I just removed all the labels, cut out the sheets into strips, and reattach using the sticky from the bottle (lots will be left on it) and 1 glue strip to fold the ends over!
    [Now, if your bottles were going to meet up with ice baths at sometime, I'm sure you'd still need to get waterproof label sheets to cover your bases. But, otherwise... this really is a super easy way to decorate bottles quickly!]

    While that was last year, I’ve used my templates to quickly and easily dress up the same bottles again for random occasions. People always ask where I ordered them from because the formatting is identical to the Costco bottles (ingredients, bottling info, etc.) except for the background and the custom label. So, I went back and scrubbed the templates clean, and have uploaded them for WeddingBee to customize at will!

    BLACK LETTER Water Bottle Labels: Adobe Illustrator Format (*.ai); PDF format

    WHITE LETTER Water Bottle Labels: Adobe Illustrator Format (*.ai); PDF format

    And just to show you their potential, a set I made with the white text using patterns by Sashiko:
    Adobe Illustrator File (*.ai); PDF File

    I hope you enjoy them! (p.s. if you don’t have Illustrator, remember that you can always use the opensource version, InkScape, for free!

Comments (4)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *